2005-06-01

recommendations

I have been abnormally busy this past week.
Everything is sooo crazy!
OC has tournaments every weekend in different cities, so I have no time to catch-up on all the housework that has been long neglected.
Also, the warm weather creates multitudes of outdoor work (which I love!) but ultimately wears me out. By the time I get on the laptop, all I want to do is play poker!
~~
Lost another pregnancy. For what it is worth, I am not as broken up this time as the last one. Kind of like being spanked. The first time is a shock, but after a while, you get used to it ;). One more loss and we will have to go to the doctor for tests. Maybe we are chemically incompatible? I don't know.
We are definitely not incompatible in any other way, I must say. We had a WONDERFUL Memorial Day. After working outside in the beautiful sunshine, we came in and showered and lounged around in the buff watching tv. It was amazing. I highly recommend naked lounging with the one you love.

I love my husband so much. He is funny and sexy and kind and gentle. Plus he really can give me quite a poke when he puts his mind to it. We think I must be nearing that *sexual peak* we have heard so much about. I hope I don't wear him out!!!!!
~~
The Gilmore Girls season finale was on last night (again - I missed it the first time). If you haven't seen that show, and you have a daughter, you must give it a try. There is a fair amount of manufactured tv humor, but the real appeal of the show is its ability to get right into the heart of the mother-daughter relationship. It is appointment tv for OC and I. We both find it very useful in initiating conversation, plus on the show Rory is 5 or 6 years older than OC, so we can address future problems now. I usually don't go for tv dramas, and certainly don't make a habit of endorsing them, but if you can get it, watch it.
~~
This weekend I read Garlic & Sapphires by Ruth Reichl, the former restaurant critic for the NY Times. Very good! I had heard an interview with her on NPR, and she was funny and interesting, so I bought the book. It was exciting to read her account of her visits to Lespinasse, as the head chef was my real estate customer at the very time she was writing about! I was happy to see he received 4 stars, because, as a person, he was also ****!
The book is really a study of social classes and misperception. Another hearty recommendation from me. I gave it to my social worker friend, and she is already deeply immersed.
~~
Last recommendation:
If you say you are going to do something, DO IT.
~~
That's all folks . . .


happy to be stuck with you - Sunday, Jan. 01, 2006
the error of complacency - Friday, Aug. 26, 2005
CAN IT - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Still breathing . . . - Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2005
the big move - Thursday, Jul. 28, 2005