Friday, Jul. 15, 2005

am I a muse???

I just realized that Grandma�s Feather Bed could have been written about me.
Witness:

It was nine feet high
Six feet wide
Soft as a downy chick
It was made from the feathers of forty �leven geese
Took a whole bolt of cloth for the tick
It could hold eight kids
Four hound dogs
And a piggy we stole from the shed
We didn�t get much sleep but we had a lot of fun
On Grandma�s Feather Bed.

I think everything the song refers to, with the exception of being made of feathers, because everyone who knows me knows I really don�t even like feathers, could describe me.
Especially the *didn�t get much sleep, but we had a lot of fun* part.

Later in the song there is reference to *next thing I know I�d wake up in the morning in the middle of the old feather bed.* Now who hasn�t had THAT experience???
If you haven�t, you are LYIN�!!

Maybe the reason I loved this song as a wee tot was because I identified with the largiosity of the bed. (can you smell the symbolism of Da Vinci Code running through this???)
~~
Speaking of the book that has grabbed my brain

I took MM�s legally blind mom to OC�s game last night and we didn�t stop talking the whole time. How fun is that??
She is so awesome in the best ways. It is fun to be in that stage where we don�t know that much about each other, and new revelations are funny and exciting.
I told her all about the book, without telling her ALL about the book, and she really wants to read it now. She can read with the aid of science fiction goggles, so I think I will pick up a large print version for her. A surprise! I love getting that kind of surprise for people. Much more fun for me than buying a gift for an *occasion.* I hate the compulsory gift giving � except at Christmas time � then I can�t stop giving, and Mom always yells at me for doing too much.
Hey. If it gives me joy, wtf? Right?

Anyway the extended conversation touched on so many subjects and it was cute how she would be non-committal about her views on things such as homosexuality and religion until she heard what I had to say. Remarkably we are very similar in attitude and experience. It is cute because she is 5�0 and thin. All my closest friends are always physically my opposite.
Mutt and Jeff.
Honestly � how gay
~~
Big problems just surfaced at the Ev@ngelical HR.
Must run and put out fire.
Rescue ME.


happy to be stuck with you - Sunday, Jan. 01, 2006
the error of complacency - Friday, Aug. 26, 2005
CAN IT - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Still breathing . . . - Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2005
the big move - Thursday, Jul. 28, 2005