Monday, Jun. 27, 2005

How do you like school, Billy?

OK �
Bob was fired.
For doing what I am doing.
Can I be fired, too?
You betcha.
Very nerve-wracking.
~~
So why is OC coming to live with me full time a big deal?
Well � our farm is in a true farming community with a tiny school system with limited resources.
Her dad lives one town over in a very affluent town with a nationally ranked school system. (The joke is, he lives in the ghetto-est area of a town of 20,000.)
When hubby & I moved out of our house in good school district to farm in poor school district, there was a great hubbub at the school accusing us of having OC in good school illegally. Never mind that we own TWO houses in said district and pay mucho taxes on each. I still had to go to the office with a copy of the divorce papers showing we have JOINT custody, and living arrangements are whatever we decide.
BIG DEAL.
At the same time, one of OC�s friends was nearly thrown out of school for same the reason. We ended up renting them hubby�s house to establish residency.
Can you imagine?? This district is so *hot* that the houses are all overpriced and people will beg, borrow or steal to get their kids in. Now, I graduated from the same school, and my recollection is a lot of drinking and massive amounts of sex. But that is just me . . .
SO-
If OC is to move up to the farm full-time, we have to avoid the prying eye of the district spies, AND we have to be sure her DAD won�t rat her out for spite.
I would not mind if she went to poor school (and in fact, almost did last year) as I think kids can learn anywhere if they are motivated. However, poor school does not offer French, which is OC�s favorite, and her career ambition. I don�t want to take that away from her.
I don�t know what will happen.
~~
Evangelical wedding was *gasp!* FUN!
There was another couple there that I knew who also did not want to be there, so we made a nice, if cynical, team.
No drunkenness for us. No dancing for us(1 billion degrees). Great food � woo hoo!!
Even though I hate social events, I am frighteningly good at schmoozing. I should have been an actress.
A note: If I see you, and ask you how you are I probably don�t mean it. And if I ask you about that job, boyfriend, girlfriend, house, or CHILD I definitely don�t mean it. BUT � if I ask after your dog, bet your bottom dollar I want to know.
How IS your puppy???? Woof
~~
Another thing
I do not have a problem with people who are devout (insert religion here).
What I have a problem with is people who try to convert me, OR people that eschew religious principles, but do not live by them.
That�s all.
Heck, if you love (insert your god�s name here), have at it! I know it can be a great comfort.
~~
That�s all.
Tomorrow I will tell you the story of the great stationary bike!
The bike is great � the story ain�t.

happy to be stuck with you - Sunday, Jan. 01, 2006
the error of complacency - Friday, Aug. 26, 2005
CAN IT - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Still breathing . . . - Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2005
the big move - Thursday, Jul. 28, 2005