Tuesday, Jun. 14, 2005

birthdays, departures and death

My birthday is coming up next week and I am starting to receive cards, etc.
Is it bad of me to open them now?? Honestly, who is going to know except me? Plus, if the sender did not want me to open them upon receipt, isn't it his responsibility to mark the package thusly?
I used to be a purist when it came to things like this - especially anything surrounding an anniversary. Now I just don't care. Half of the things I receive I don't want. Many of the cards do not have a personal message inside, so what is the point? I would rather have a little letter or nothing. At this point in my life, I have everything I need except time. I really REALLY don't need another picture frame, scented candle, cd of YOUR favorite band.

rant rant rant
~~
This is JJs last week at work. I am very sad to see her go. She is the one person who I can IM with all of my cynical comments. Interestingly, she is getting more and more sarcastic as she gets closer to departure. Many comments about the gayness of our evangelical VP. Cracks me up.
We have all donated $$ to get her an awesome gift certificate to our favorite Japanese restaurant, and hopefully hubby & I will go with them when they use it! We have been talking about going there for over a year, but she has 2 kids of her own, and the scheduling is difficult.
Co-workers also passed around a "so you are leaving . . ." card. I had a hard time deciding what to write in it. JJ & I are great friends outside of work, so it was ridiculous for me to sign it at all.
The first idea I had:
There once was a girl from Wisconsin,
Whose hubby gave her his big johnson . . .
but then I read the other missives (mostly filled with "God bless you, evil sinner deserter"), and came up with this one:
May Jesus guide you, even if you are going straight to hell.
But then I thought about OC, and how I wanted her to be able to eat, so I finally settled on:
Dear JJ,
DON'T GO.
Love, Darcy.
I think she will understand.
~~
Kitty is on a rampage
I don't know what has gotten into her, but four days ago she killed a baby woodchuck and last night I went into the dining room to find a headless bunny on the floor. I didn't even know they MADE headless bunnies! Actually, said bunny had one ear still attached.
HAUNTING.
I am afraid she is getting too much of a taste for blood. Any thoughts? I am new to this killer dog thing, and hubby insists she is not a homicidal maniac. I am worried she will try to kill Stanley (who, btw, has settled in beautifully, and was lounging on his front porch when I left for work this morning).
~~
Hit Me Baby One More Time is on tonight. Time to gather round the tv!!!!!!!
happy to be stuck with you - Sunday, Jan. 01, 2006
the error of complacency - Friday, Aug. 26, 2005
CAN IT - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Still breathing . . . - Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2005
the big move - Thursday, Jul. 28, 2005