2005-05-10

my crown is slipping

Do you ever get the feeling that you are rotting away?
Guess what?
I am.
How frickin embarrassing.
I am explaining very important evangelical HR procedure to xtreme makeover girl, and my goddamned crown falls off. Not to be confused with my *tiara* . . .
I have had an ongoing problem with this crown since I got it 20 years ago, and now it is finally on it's last legs. I was merely chewing on a super nummy strawberry Mento (did you know you can get a whole box of JUST strawberry now????) and it came right off. I just had it temporarily reaffixed when I had my awesome root canal. This really sucks. Really.
~~
I have a little flirtation going with one of my clients in New Orleans. I have no idea how it started, but all of the sudden in February he says he will fly me down for Mardi Gras if I want. Do I want?? Fer sure! Will I go?? No way! I am such a chicken. Now I know what you must be thinking. He is married with two kids, and he knows I am married. I asked the salesman who got his account about him, and was told he is always like that - generous.
I told hubby about it and he was all "derrrrrrrr." I told him I wasn't really interested in sex with him much less a complete stranger, so what's the big deal.
Note to self: not the greatest argument . . .
So I begged off and have been invited back down once since. I am not really sure what to do with it. It would be fun to take OC since she is a french student. Or is that a rationalization? Hubby knows I am too much of a coward to go. I think he is right.
My bravery is in indirect proportion to my weight. So to go to NO I must diet.
~~
Just receieved invitation to evangelical HR wedding of daughter of CEO. I blew off the bridal shower thinking there was no way I would be invited to the wedding. Christ - now I look like schmucko the schmuckity schmuck. I would crap out of the wedding, but the business is just small enough I could be canned for it. I do think, however, we should get raises if we are expected to provide nice gifts.
Makes cent$ to me!

happy to be stuck with you - Sunday, Jan. 01, 2006
the error of complacency - Friday, Aug. 26, 2005
CAN IT - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Still breathing . . . - Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2005
the big move - Thursday, Jul. 28, 2005