2005-05-02

She's Gone

The stars are not wanted now: put out every one;
Pack up the moon and dismantle the sun;
Pour away the ocean and sweep up the wood.
For nothing now can ever come to any good.
~
Baby sis is gone.
She left yesterday for the Scottish highlands with her carpetbagger BF. Everyone cried. And threatened BF to take care of baby or horrible pain would ensue. I think after 4 people told him that independently, he finally go the message. He is a very nice man, actually, but his grasp of reality is not , ummm . . . always tight? A true romantic. Of course, my perception of him is colored by the fact that during most of the conversations I have had with him he has been plastered. A real Scotsman. He did say some very nice things to me, and told me he would spread my love around Scotland.
Okay.
~~
OC has pneumonia. She is coughing up blood in her mucus. She went to the doctor last week, and received no help, just tests. Friday night when we all were drinking she approached me with a napkin with blood in it. Dag. That is scary. Our Dr.'s practice is thankfully open on Saturday, so we went and saw a different doc. She was GREAT! I had forgotten what it was like to actually be SEEN by a doctor. She spent almost 20 minutes with us and really examined the hell out of OC. Ultimately she was disappointed that more was not done earlier in the week, and gave us a big fancy prescription. OC is already feeling better, and mad at me because I made her stay home from school today. Tough love - HA!
~
Broke out the lawnmower for the first time yesterday. I can't wait to get out there mowing in the sun. We mow about 5-7 acres around the houses and barns, and I just love to do it. I have begged to quit my job and go into the mowing business. Hubby doesn't think I would like it. Men. He is nuts. I love to work hard outside as long as it doesn't involve a lot of kneeling. When is the last time you saw someone mowing on their knees????
~
OH! Kitty and puppies caught a woodchuck yesterday. We didn't see it happen, but Hubby saw the aftermath. They must have ganged up on it, as together they only weight about 30 lbs. Kitty is fast like the wind though, and I'm sure easily outran a lumbering woodchuck. Henry is also feeling virile in the spring sunshine, strutting like a drag queen. Though I have to say, it must be demoralizing for him when the blackbirds come eat his food.
Po' Henry!

happy to be stuck with you - Sunday, Jan. 01, 2006
the error of complacency - Friday, Aug. 26, 2005
CAN IT - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Still breathing . . . - Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2005
the big move - Thursday, Jul. 28, 2005