2005-04-24

Pahtee & Chickens

Today is the big day. Already have the chicken cooked, just waiting for the puff pastry to thaw out. I feel so competent when I am ahead of schedule. I made a centerpiece out of 12 $1 mums in pretty purple cups and a ukulele and a clarinet, plus 2 silver candlesticks. For the tablecloth I bought a white king sheet and one panel of a mossy green curtain (both on clearance) angled across the middle. I think it looks really lovely!! OHH I can't forget to put the wine in the fridge. . .
~ OC is back to her awful self today. She hates doing anything to help. Actually, that's not true. She hates being asked to do anything to help. Once she gets started it is usually fine. She had quite a weekend so far. Baby sis and Scottish BF took her to Kelly Clarkson concert in Boston, and since SBF knows the band, OC got to MEET Kelly and hang out with the band! How exciting! We are so lucky to know and meet such interesting people! When any member of our family describes to an outsider the things we have done or people we know, it sounds like BS - but it is TRUE. For middle class regular folks, we sure seem to get lucky. Anyway, you would think OC would be riding the wave of the great weekend, wouldn't you? No such luck. 15 sucks.
~
Hubby bought his excavator yesterday and is SOOOO happy. He has been wanting one for about 12 years, and yesterday his dream came true. And his wife said, "Oh yeah? Good for you. Where have you been????" Ah the goddess of PMS strikes again. I know how badly he wanted this, and I totally blew him off. I was like, "you are never excited about my stuff - like when I get my hair done or something" I am so lame. I apologized this morning - without, of course admitting hormonal imbalance. I think he is happier now.
~
A story about how we acquired Henry the Rooster:
We have a grape and Xmas tree farm with a retail farm market. At the end of grape season it gets pretty frickin cold at night, so typically, I will come back up to the house and hubby will stay late to help any stragglers. This evening I got a call on the walkie talkie, "Guess what Schmoop? I have a surprise for you!" It turns out a car full of Mexicans who came down to do work for weekenders stopped in. They had just come from a weeklong job, and were headed to Boston, presumably home. They bought some grapes (and some of my famous homemade jam!!) and asked if Hubby wanted a chicken. Hubby thought they meant a COOKED chicken and declined. (After all who would take a cooked chicken from a stranger? Jeez) So the guy was like No -look!
Hubby looked in the car and there was a white feed bag with a knot in it. The Mexican explained that the guy they were working for told them to take it - I guess thinking that Mexicans KNOW what to do with live chickens . . . The Mexcian guys were like - We don't want no chicken! You take it? and Hubby said SURE!
So now we are in the chicken business. We only have Henry, and he lives in a dog pen on our porch. I love him, and want to get him some girlfriends- hopefully this summer.
The irony?
At one time when my father-in-law was growing up here they had over 5000 chickens at a time. When they finally phased them out, he said, "NEVER AGAIN!"
I called him and told him about Henry.
He said, "Eat him."

happy to be stuck with you - Sunday, Jan. 01, 2006
the error of complacency - Friday, Aug. 26, 2005
CAN IT - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Still breathing . . . - Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2005
the big move - Thursday, Jul. 28, 2005